Electrical issues, both 12 volt and 120 volt
Travelisaverb
Weekend Camper
B190 Year: 1995
WBCCI: 0

Newbie worried about charging laptops

Post by Travelisaverb »

Hello,

I recently purchased a van from one of your members. It's a beauty. So many of the forums topics have helped me understand my rig tremendously, this site seems to have such a delightful community.

Before I settled on the 190, i did a fair amount of research about using laptops and electronics on board. And I learned that I need to take extra steps to protect the batteries of these devices when charging them. I am a web designer and I plan to work in the van as an office. Everything on my 190 is original: The converter, transfer switch, generator, etc. and I'm wondering if I should have any concerns with using shore power, and the coach 12 volt system with my expensive macbook pro, and monitor.

Trying to understand Amps, Volts, Watts etc. is really confusing and frustrating. I've read about inverters and making sure that I have a pure wave sine model, but I'm not really sure if that applies here. I want to boondock about 50% of the time and rely on my generator to keep me powered up.

1. What do I need to know?
2. Is there any concern I should have with using shore power through this system?

Ps. I've noticed the threads that discuss replacing the converter. I'm a lady and not mechanically skilled or savvy, if wanted to do this, any recommendations where to hire someone with the know how to the make the upgrades for me?

Thanks in advance!

Thank you in advance.

8O
Kentuckian
Seasoned Traveler
B190 Year: 1993

Re: Newbie worried about charging laptops

Post by Kentuckian »

Bottom line is there is no connection between the 12 volt system issue that you have read about and the 110volt outlet that you use to power your MAC in the B190. You can use your MAC without worry!