Battery Isolator?

Electrical issues, both 12 volt and 120 volt
Millennium Falcon
Weekend Camper
B190 Year: 1991
WBCCI: 0

Battery Isolator?

Post by Millennium Falcon »

So, been wondering what the key switch on on the side (front left corner panel) of my B190 was for, since I bought it a couple weeks ago. While I was flushing the radiator I followed the wires from the key switch to a strange looking thingamajig . I'm new to the camper world so bare with me. I stumbled across an image of a battery isolator by accident while I was researching something else, and it looks almost exactly like the thingamajig in my B190. I posted images from my B190. So, my question is, is this a battery isolator? Also, I've read a little bit about them...and from what I understand( if this is a battery isolator) is that the switch allows you to switch from running the house battery only, to running both the house and starting battery, when running interior lights, etc. Also not sure how to tell which setting the key switch is in.

Thanks!
Jim
P1010102.JPG
P1010102.JPG (222.08 KiB) Viewed 9168 times
P1010101.JPG
P1010101.JPG (151.38 KiB) Viewed 9168 times
1991 Intervec Ford Falcon 190TBF
skater
Site Admin
WBCCI: 13270

Re: Battery Isolator?

Post by skater »

Wow. Mine didn't have the key on the side of the camper, to start with.

The isolator in mine was wired so that when the ignition was turned to run, the isolator allowed the engine's 12 volt battery to power the coach 12 volt system, in effect allowing the engine to recharge the camper's battery, run lights, provide power to start the generator, etc.

The key in yours makes me think more of a battery cutoff - that is, it was installed to give the owner an easy way to disconnect the coach battery while the camper was in storage so it wouldn't run down as quickly.
1991 Airstream B190 - bought, 2005; sold, 2011; bought 2017
1995 Airstream Excella 30' trailer

WBCCI #13270, Washington, DC Unit
weekender
Seasoned Traveler