air conditioner from batteries possible?

Refrigerator, stove, furnace, water pump, air conditioner, microwave, water heater, fans, lighting
Jonny
Weekend Camper
B190 Year: 1991
WBCCI: 0

air conditioner from batteries possible?

Post by Jonny »

Hello all. Just put a deposit on a 1991 B190 and am spending evenings trying to digest all the information about this wonderful toy before I get my hands on it next week.

I know for the air conditioner to run you have to be on shore power or generator, by design. It looks like the AC is about 11,500 BTUs and people estimate somewhere between 10 and 15 amps when the compressor is running? I haven't found the specs yet for the inverter, but if it's too small for that, what would stop me from putting a couple of beefy AGM batteries under the couch and a fresh new inverter to handle the load.

Granted I'm no electrician, but if I have 200 amp/hours worth of batteries and a 50+ amp inverter, couldn't I use the air overnight before needing to charge the batteries via gen or shore power? My goal is off-grid for several months, but I gotta have that air :)
skater
Site Admin
WBCCI: 13270

Re: air conditioner from batteries possible?

Post by skater »

No, not going to work, at least not without a ton of batteries. The basic problem is that you're forgetting that 12 volts DC has much less power than 120 volts AC.

The air conditioner draws (say) 15 amps at 120 volts. That's 1800 watts, or 150 amps at 12 volts. (Watts=amps*volts is the formula that rules.) Whenever the compressor is running. 200 amp/hours of batteries would keep it running for a couple minutes, tops. You'd need to fill the camper with batteries to make it work overnight.

This is why solar installations are never large enough to run air conditioners.
1991 Airstream B190 - bought, 2005; sold, 2011; bought 2017
1995 Airstream Excella 30' trailer

WBCCI #13270, Washington, DC Unit
Jonny
Weekend Camper

Post by Jonny »