Newbie NW Indiana and repainting question

Come in and introduce yourself!
hairymonk
New User

Post by hairymonk »

Just bought a 1990 B190. I am a semi-retired professor and filmaker. I am currently using the B190 as a "production van" for making documentary films.

The B190 is in pretty good shape, but has been stored outside and the paint is faded. I got a quote from a local RV dealer of $12,000 to repaint. This quote was to restore the exterior to the original configuration. Any suggestions for repainting options & costs?
All those who wander are not lost-J.R.R. Tolkien
funtwodrv
Weekend Camper

Post by funtwodrv »

$12K is probably what it takes today to paint something this large. However, I would give some thought to having it done by someone like Maaco. If it doesn't need significant body work, companies like this seem to be able to put a decent paint job out for very reasonable costs. And, if you're handy with sanding and prep, you can save even more and end up with a better finish job.
Just my thoughts.
Good Luck,
Gary
skater
Site Admin
B190 Year: 1991
WBCCI: 13270

Post by skater »

Maaco and the like may not have a shop large enough (tall enough, really) for the B190. Check that with any shop.

$12K seems rather high. But to sand it all down and re-do all the graphics, I'm not that surprised. It's a lot of labor.

Keep in mind you generally get what you pay for when it comes to paint jobs - those $250 bargain paint jobs Maaco used to advertise are bargains for a reason. It may be fine if you only plan to keep it a couple years, though.
1991 Airstream B190 - bought, 2005; sold, 2011; bought 2017
1995 Airstream Excella 30' trailer

WBCCI #13270, Washington, DC Unit
funtwodrv
Weekend Camper

Post by funtwodrv »

Good point on the overall height. I suspect it may be difficult to find a shop, other than an RV or truck shop, that can accommodate it.
As such, $12k may be the price you have to pay!

Gary
RCR
Site Admin
B190 Year: 1995
WBCCI: 0

Post by RCR »