It's a gas
Marko Polo
Weekend Camper
B190 Year: 1994
WBCCI: 0

Adding Propane Capacity

Post by Marko Polo »

Heya -

I'm new to the B190, but am planning on a lot of boondocking and cold-weather camping. Does anyone have suggestions for increasing propane capacity? Or can someone help with the questions below:

Would it be possible to mount a single (or two?) 30 lb. propane tank on a cargo carrier on the back, then building detachable hosing to connect it from where the stock tank is mounted? What if a Y were installed with in-line valves to select which tank feeds the vehicle?

The plan is to shut off and disconnect the tail-mounted tanks when travelling and connect at campsites. My expertise is more in carpentry, masonry, and engines, so if someone with more knowledge of gas can help it would be appreciated.

Thank you!
EricZ
Weekend Camper
B190 Year: 1993

Re: Adding Propane Capacity

Post by EricZ »

As a start, here are my incomplete notes on some devices that might get you part way there:

Extend-a-Stay (by Marshall Brass, possibly no longer available)
Allows running internal appliances from external tanks and external appliances from coach tank.
If I recall correctly, Standard included the fitting and a hose for an external tank; Deluxe had the same fitting and hose, but added a hose for external appliances.

Extend-a-Flow:
I think this is for RVs with luggable tanks (i.e., typical of trailers). Not what we would use in our Airstream 190s.

Stay-a-While (Mr. Heater)
Looks like this might be similar to the Extend-a-Stay.
Looks like three models: Tee-only, Tee and hose, and Tee with two hoses (Deluxe).

Sturgi-Stay (MB Sturgis)
Perhaps another variant of the same idea.
Standard, Deluxe

I have not yet verified that any of these devices will fit in the limited space near our Airstream 190 propane tanks. If there isn't room, perhaps the device can be located elsewhere (with suitable propane plumbing).