Sofa/bed

Make it comfortable inside
Wif

Sofa/bed

Post by Wif »

Good morning to the fire.
Newbie here looking for advice.
I have a '91 B190 and my problem for today is the sofa/bed. It functions well as a bed or sofa but it is next to impossible to access the space under the seat.
I am about ready to rip out the folding unit and replacing it with two separate cushions.
Any help would be appreciated. Wow I spelled appreciated right on the first try.

Yours

Wif
skater
Site Admin
B190 Year: 1991
WBCCI: 13270

Post by skater »

Yeah, it's not the easiest place to access. If you're careful, you can balance it halfway open. Obviously you can't put a lot under there - watch the wires, the converter, and the heating duct.

In mine, a previous owner (I assume) had cut a board to lay across the top of the converter and furnace, giving a nice little shelf to use. I think the only thing we keep there, though, is the Swiffer, disassembled in a small shoe box.
1991 Airstream B190 - bought, 2005; sold, 2011; bought 2017
1995 Airstream Excella 30' trailer

WBCCI #13270, Washington, DC Unit
Wif

Post by Wif »

Skater
Thanks for the response. I am considering replacing part of the flex hose with a sheet metal duct. Should be able to find some thing in the dryer duct section of the hardware store. Then I could stack stuff on the duct. All that is under the seat now is the tire changing tools.
More brainstorming my be required on this.
Wif :lol:
weekender
Seasoned Traveler
B190 Year: 1993
WBCCI: 0

Post by weekender »

91's must be much different from my 93. Mine had a large drawer, which had long broken it's slides--cheap plastic that they were. In my case, I removed the nice oak drawer front from the drawer, flipped it 180 degrees and mounted 2 hinges and a catch. I now have a great large storage area. Yes, I still have to be careful about the wires in back of the electric box, but it is much better than the drawer ever was. Heater in mine is in the bath, under the closet.
Wif