Cabinet touch-ups

Make it comfortable inside
ChasingRain
Weekend Camper
B190 Year: 1994
WBCCI: 0

Cabinet touch-ups

Post by ChasingRain »

Some of the lower cabinets in my van are showing their age. The finish is looking a little rough in spots, but not everywhere, and things are generally looking a bit "lived in." Short of completely stripping them and re-finishing, I'm wondering what I can do to touch things up a bit? A light sanding and a light coat of polyurethane? any sage advice?
lowbudget
B190 Year: 1989

Tired cabinets

Post by lowbudget »

I am a cabinetmaker and carpenter by trade so I may be of assistance here. I'm not sure what finish was used on the cabinets but polyurethane can be used over most anything including laquer, so your idea of a light sanding and a coat of poly sounds like it would work. I have used a dozen gallons of Minwax poly over the past few years with excellent results. I prefer a satin finish but a semi-gloss may match better. I often use cheap foam brushes because you can just toss them out rather than trying to clean a brush after. I have thrown away many good brushes because you can't get them clean enough. Most often it takes two coats with a light sanding between coats with 240 grit (or close). Let us know how it turns out.
skater
Site Admin
B190 Year: 1991
WBCCI: 13270

Post by skater »

Are our cabinets real wood?

I thought they were particleboard, but now that I think about it, one of mine has split in a manner consistent with real wood (i.e., not chipping or splintering).
1991 Airstream B190 - bought, 2005; sold, 2011; bought 2017
1995 Airstream Excella 30' trailer

WBCCI #13270, Washington, DC Unit
Alaskan
Site Admin
B190 Year: 1999

Post by Alaskan »