Kayak carrying on the roof?

New to camping and have questions? Wondering what the switch in the control panel does? Post your questions here and we'll (try) to answer them.
weekender
Seasoned Traveler
B190 Year: 1993
WBCCI: 0

Kayak carrying on the roof?

Post by weekender »

Does anyone have any history of carrying small kayaks on the roof? I have 2 small kayaks, and it looks like I could carry one on either side of the roof AC (being careful of the bathroom fan and tank exhaust vent). Is the roof rack railing strong enough to use ratchet tie downs?

Any better suggestions for carrying 2 kayaks?
ChasingRain
Weekend Camper
B190 Year: 1994

Post by ChasingRain »

I've got some experience is this. (ok, really a lot of experience) I took off the luggage rack and built a steel rack that screwed into the hole the luggage rack was mounted to. I doubt the original rack would be strong enough, it's pretty light weight. Mine is set up with a cage sort of deal around the AC, so I can put a boat on top as well. Keep in mind that the luggage rack is also the TV antenna, so if you take it off, you'll lose that as well. The other option, depending on the length of the boats, is to come up with something that mounts to the hitch. might look something like this: (sorry, can't see the rack on top well in this picture)

I think my record is something like 10 or 12 boats on the van at once.
RobertL
Weekend Camper
B190 Year: 1993

Specs on the rear rack?

Post by RobertL »

Hi- Love the concept of carrying the Yaks on the back instead of the top.
We have 2 9.5's and I would love to know how you fabricated the carrier you have there.
craigmar
Seasoned Traveler
B190 Year: 1991

Kayak's

Post by craigmar »