1991 B190

New to camping and have questions? Wondering what the switch in the control panel does? Post your questions here and we'll (try) to answer them.
Jami
New User

1991 B190

Post by Jami »

I've got my eye on two at the moment. I keep coming back to them after looking at literally thousands of different Class B's for sale. Here's a stupid question for you and I promise I will have more stupid questions once I buy one. I'm a newbie. Have never owned an RV before and I will be soloing and basically full-timing. I tend to be kind of a go-for-it adventurous type of gal.

1) How do they handle in high winds, mountains, etc. They seem like they would be very top heavy and tipping is a concern. I don't know. If one isn't installed, should I get a steering stabilizer?
2) Again with the tall factor...any problems driving down the road and whoops no way am I fitting under that bridge/tunnel/what have you. I told you it was a stupid question. :)
skater
Site Admin
B190 Year: 1991
WBCCI: 13270

Post by skater »

These are NOT stupid questions by any means! They're very real concerns.

1. For crosswinds, I've never had a major problem that wasn't corrected by doing, say, 55 mph, instead of 60 mph. Yes, they are tall vehicles, but they're also very heavy, which offsets some of the tendency for them to blow around. I do not have a steering stabilizer. A headwind will eat gasoline but otherwise not cause a problem.

2. When I bought mine, the woman warned me that it's about 10' high. The one thing she mentioned was gas stations on "blue highways". So far I've yet to find any situation where the clearance was a problem, but it's definitely something to watch. I also watch more closely on parkways that trucks are not allowed to use, but again I've never had a problem.