Maintaining your generator

2800 MicroLite by Onan
skater
Site Admin
B190 Year: 1991
WBCCI: 13270

Maintaining your generator

Post by skater »

Our Onan 2.8 generators are pretty good generators, made by the same company that makes huge industrial generators for large buildings. They should last a long time, but they have to be taken care of. You don't want to have to replace it-they run about $2100-and they're the only model that fits in the box (trust me, I looked).

I'm no expert on generators, but since my original generator died, I've learned a few things:

* The manual recommends you run the generator for at least four hours (continuously) each month, with a load. Turn on the A/C, or in the winter, turn on the heat strip if you have it, all the lights, fans, etc.
* When you're shutting the generator down, allow it to run a couple minutes to cool off; don't shut it down while it's at maximum load (and throttle). Doing so will make it hard to start again.
* The generator does not run very well when it's severely off level, and it seems to be more sensitive to side-to-side variations than front to back. I've actually had the new generator stall while climbing long hills on the road.
* Many people recommend using the generator and running the rooftop A/C instead of using the engine's A/C, especially if you're towing, so that the engine's power is available for moving the camper. I think it depends on what you're doing - if you're not towing anything and you're sitting in the front, then the engine A/C would be fine. I travel with my cat, so I want it cool in the camper even when I'm inside a restaurant eating lunch, so I use the generator to run the rooftop A/C. Plus my engine's A/C doesn't work. :)