Electrical issues, both 12 volt and 120 volt
Marko Polo
Weekend Camper
B190 Year: 1994
WBCCI: 0

Coach Battery SLOW Drain

Post by Marko Polo »

Electrical Gremlin advice sought!

My coach battery is draining, quite slowly at that. It takes about a full day to drain it to the point the CO detector loses power. The van battery starts/runs no problem, only the coach battery. If you guys have any insight i'd appreciate it, as those dealer labor fees are expensive!

Recently i've done some upgrades - please correct me in my thinking it has to be the refrigerator.
1) New refrigerator installed by dealer.
2) New stereo receiver/speakers
3) Cargo carrier with LED lights and license plate light installed to the back, run through hitch wiring harness.
4) New hitch wiring harness.

Of these four things, wouldn't the refrigerator be the only one to effect the coach battery? The other three all run off the van battery, right? Also, i'm new to the multi-meter, but how would I check if the battery is good and what the pull is on it with everything off?

I've started pulling fuses to leave ONLY the CO detector on, and it still drains the battery in a day or so. So... bad battery? Short? What's pulling the juice?

Thank you for your help!
skater
Site Admin
B190 Year: 1991
WBCCI: 13270

Re: Coach Battery SLOW Drain

Post by skater »

I'd argue that a "full day" is a fast drain, not a slow one!

First, are you sure it's not the battery itself? I would plug in the camper and check the voltage of the coach system. It should be ~13.2 volts or so. If it's much lower than that, the converter is shot and it's time to replace it, and the problem you're having is that the battery simply isn't getting charged (though it'll probably also be bad at this point).